Main page

Amu competition 2014

download, 7 kb.

    • AMU is organizing an All India Essay Writing Competition for university and college students

      As part of celebrations of the 198th birth anniversary of its legendary founder and great social reformer, Sir Syed Ahmad Khan, the Aligarh Muslim University is organizing an All India Essay Writing Competition for university and college students in English language on the topic, “In keeping with Sir Syed’s vision of spread of modern scientific education, AMU is running 10 schools up to Senior Secondary level. How can we ensure a strong educational foundation at school level?”


      Rahat Abrar, Public Relations Officer, has urged the bona fide students of Indian universities and colleges to participate in the competition.
      Aligarh: Shah Muneeb Raza, a resident of Jammu and Kashmir bagged the first prize whereas P Neela of Dhantwantri College of Nursing, Ranganur in Tamil Nadu won the second prize in the 'All India Essay Writing Competition' to mark the 197th birth anniversary of Sir Syed Ahmad Khan.

      However, students of schools up to senior secondary level are not allowed to partake in the All India literary event.
      Dr. Abrar pointed out that a cash prize of Rs. 25,000, 15,000 and 10,000 have been announced for the essays achieving first, second and third places respectively. He said that the state level toppers of the competition will also be given a sum of Rs. 5,000 as consolation prize. The prizes shall be presented at the Sir Syed Day Commemorative Meeting on October 17, 2015, he added.
      The winners will be awarded on 17th October at the Sir Syed Day Commemoration Meeting by the guest of honour Dr Abdulaziz Othman Al Altawajiri, Director General, Islamic Educational Scientific and Cultural Organisation (ISESCO), Rabat, Kingdom of Morocco.

      Dr. Abrar clarified that all prize winners shall be provided boarding and lodging along with one of his or her close relatives like mother, father, brother or sister. The first, second and third prize winners will be given both way AC II class railway fare while the state level toppers are entitled to second class sleeper fare.

      While Shah Muneeb Raza was awarded a cash prize of Rs.25,000, P Neela was given Rs.15,000 in cash as second prize. Jawahar Lal Nehru University's Saqidalavi Panayathil came third with a prize of Rs 10, 000.

      Essays written in 3000 words and typed in 1.5 space on A4 size paper along with a soft copy and photograph of the candidate must reach the office of the Public Relations Office, AMU, Aligarh by September 25, 2015.

      Rules and Regulations:

      • The participant must be a bonafide student of a University or a College. School students up to Class XII are not eligible to participate.
    • The essay should be submitted on A4 size paper in double space typed on one side and should contain around 3000 (three thousand) words duly forwarded by Head of the Institution. A soft copy of the essay along with the photograph of the participant is also essentially required.
      News Photos Just In Debate Topic Latest News Articles Local News Blog Posts Pictures Reviews Recipes
      All India Sir Syed Essay Writing Competition 2014: Winners Announced Follow @merinews
      Aligarh Muslim University has declared the results of All India Sir Syed Essay Writing Competition 2014 organised as part of the 197th Birth Anniversary of Sir Syed Ahmad Khan.
      The univarisity had earlier invited entries from college and university students on the topic "Sir Syed envisioned AMU to be Oxford of the East. How can we make it 'Oxford of the World'-A World Class University".

    • The essay must be original, not already published in any book, magazine, newspaper and internet.
    • Bonafide certificate from the College/University along with the correspondence address including contact number and E-mail ID of the participant must be provided on a separate sheet attached along with the essay. The participants’ state will be determined on the basis of his/her institution’s address.
      Top three winners will be awarded prizes on 17th October at the Sir Syed Day Commemorative Meeting by the chief guest. A cheque for the prize money along with certificates will be sent to all state toppers at their respective addresses.

    • There are three cash prizes viz., First Prize of Rs. 25,000/-, Second Rs. 15,000/- & Third Rs. 10,000/-. Besides, State level toppers of aforesaid competition will also be given a sum of Rs. 5,000/- as consolation prize.
    • The first, second and third prize winners will be given both ways AC-II class railway fare and State level toppers will be given second class sleeper fare.
    • All prize winners shall be provided boarding and lodging in the University along with one relative (Father, mother, brother or sister).
    • The essay must be sent to the Public Relations Officer, AMU, Aligarh-202002 latest by 25th September 2015.
    • The prizes shall be presented on the occasion of Sir Syed Day celebration on October 17, 2015 by the Chief Guest.
    • The decision of the University with regard to the prizes will be final.

    For any further enquiry, participants may contact the undersigned.

    Chattisgarh's Akshay Pillay, Andhra Pradesh's Krati Khandelwal, Jammu and Kashmir's Shubham Gupta, Uttar Pradesh's Naazli Shah, Gujrat's Pathan Sharifa Chand Ali Khan, Uttrakhand's Samar Tyagi, Haryana's Mohd Jamshed, Punjab's Karan Tewari, Maharashtra's Shaikh Shadab Alam Gulab, Kerala's Ameer K, Karnataka's Syed Zaheeruddin Bareed, Jharkhand's Heena Parveen, Tamil Nadu's Sankareshwari A, New Delhi's Sumaiya Shams, Orrisa's SK Juned Jafri, Rajasthan's Priyanka Jain and Bihar's Ajumit Kumar have been declared as the State toppers.

    Dr. Rahat Abrar
    Public Relations Officer
    Mobile: +919358259107

    download, 7 kb.
    • Sources:
    • 1.
    • 9.1%
    • 2.
    • 1.5%
    • 3.
    • 1.1%
    • 4.
    • 2.4%
    • 5.
    • 2.9%
    © 2018