Main page

Menu:
Dd208

download, 24 kb.

Student and tutor module reviews dd208

Absolutely relished studying this module! Was a little apprehensive initially because I was concerned it may not live up to my previous module which I thoroughly enjoyed.

However, happily I can advise that within the first week the module content had captured me.



Actually chose this module because of the social aspect; and surprisingly came to love and have a real passion for the crime aspect.
Social justice ... is neither the exclusive terrain of social welfare nor of crime control. Indeed, the boundaries between these two domains tend to be mobile and porous’ (Book 1, Social Justice: Welfare, Crime and Society, p. 168).



Vast array of support offered throughout this module. I attended the tutorial days and engaged in the collaborative forums, which I found beneficial scaffolding for TMAs/EMA.

The EMA was a three hour formal exam (first formal exam for me in 21 years).
The term ‘porous’ suggests that there is barrier between social welfare services and crime control services but that there are gaps in this barrier allowing both side to communicate. In order to be effective, both social welfare and crime control need to liaise with and co-ordinate their efforts with their counterparts. As the barrier is porous it allows for the information to be exchanged at a controlled rate. Information, ideas, solutions may all be better achieved if a porous "cushion" is created so that the flow of such information allows for a more economic and...

Great to finally have the opportunity to have free reign and not be constrained by word limits. Loved it! Very proud to say I achieved a distinction.

Detailed module and I would highly recommend it especially to those budding social science students.
It has been long debated that the issues of social justice such as inequality, poverty and social exclusion are divided between social welfare and crime control territories. Whilst some distinguished responses to this particular subject matter become the focal point of social welfare strategies, others become the emphasis of crime control interventions therefore suggesting that the boundary between the two is by no means beyond limitation and as such is implied “to be mobile and porous” (Newman & Yates (2008), p168). There are many entanglements between social welfare and crime control policies and upon further investigation it becomes more evident the similarities of the objectives between the two. Social welfare is geared towards a governmental support mechanism set up to contest social impairments such as poverty and racism whereas crime control is a stabilising mechanism that has been set up to restore and maintain this social order by penalising those who pose a risk against its safekeeping.



DD208; Welfare, Crime and Society is a valuable module to add towards any degree. Moreover a social science degree.

Sharon Hartles

Course starting: February 2015

Review posted: December 2015

I really enjoyed this course, the content at times was dry but overall I found the workings of the world fascinating.

My tutor was excellent and I didn't manage to get to any of my tutorials although she was there for me on the end of an email at all times.
However sometimes the extent of punitiveness may be overestimated in particular policy field, and other times when they aim preventative strategies they unwittingly lead to punitiveness.

I did go to the day school as this module had an exam component.

The exam was my 1st in over 20 years and although I found it daunting I was well prepared for it and the mock in a previous TMA really helped. I had not had an easy year in my personal life yet still managed to achieve a Grade 2 pass, I suspect this was to do with my level of interest in the actual subject matter.
Answer: This essay will explore the relationship between personal responsibility and personal protection...

The content of the book followed real life issues and I learnt a lot with regards to the world, economy and policies.

Course starting: October 2013

Review posted: June 2015

I took this course as my step-up from OU level 1 to level 2. For this purpose, it was ideally suited. The early course material and first TMA were of the same complexity that I was accustomed to, and the difficulty increased gradually and consistently throughout.

The final TMA was a practical assessment of policy, and felt very 'real' in nature.

TMA 03 Assess how the concept of social justice highlights the inter-relatedness between social welfare and crime control? Support your arguments with material from two chapters from Book 1, Social Justice.

It could well have been a work assignment for someone employed in a policy evaluation role.

The tutoring style put a lot of emphasis on learning the names of the social scientists. This initially struck me as odd, but made great preparation for the exam. The exam will require a great deal of preparation and should not be embarked upon lightly. Nonetheless despite my dyslexia and slow handwriting, I was still able to achieve the grade I wanted (thanks mainly to the tutors' suggestions for my preparation).

Overall the course offers a progressive ramp up to this final challenge, and in my view makes it a sensible choice for a first level 2 module to study.

Joseph Jones-Jennings

Course starting: October 2013

Review posted: January 2015

I found this module very interesting to learn.
The only serious obstructing factor is that there is no proper feedback from university after the exams. I failed the exam and was entitled to resit it. Itried to find out what was the reason of my failure not to question it but to prepare well for the resit exam.

Question: TMA 05 Write a review of the Scottish Government’s policy paper, Protecting Scotland’s Communities.

In spite of many effords to get it I did not get any support and was not able to prepare myself to pass the resit.

Course starting: October 2013

Review posted: August 2014

Faculty response

archived as a grievance.

Responsibilisation; individuals and communities have to take responsibility for their own welfare position, and in policy terms is associated with a series of economic and social incentives, and disincentives aimed at reinforcing appropriate behaviour.

.. not a review..

I did this module as a part of the Criminology and Psychological Studies degree. I signed up to the degree as I want to work with offenders and thought that the criminology modules would be the ones that would interest me the most. This, however, was not the case. Having also studied DSE212 (level 2 psychology) I can honestly say that I found the psychology side of things more interesting and varied than this module.

DD208 was very repetitive and I personally found it boring. If you want an overview of the module then here it is in a nutshell.... "social welfare and crime control are entangled", and that's pretty much what the TMAs, the exam and the whole module are centred on.

Course starting: September 2012

Review posted: January 2014

I really disliked this module but it was compulsory so I had no choice! It was my first Level 2, I had completed 3 Level 1's, and I actually think I was very ill prepared!

I found the whole thing quite stressful and not at all what I expected (very policy focused). I did find the reading tedious since I didn't enjoy the subject matter but did manage to fit in with the schedule give or take a few days extension when needed.

I did very well in the TMAs so they can't have been that taxing and even when I wasn't sure I'd grasped the concept it appears that I had but I flopped in the exam which was very disappointing (did better in the mock than in the real thing!) which dragged my grade down.

I am finishing off my other modules next year as I feel I need the rest after this one - it was very intense (although I did study it during 9 months of pregnancy and sat the exam 3 weeks after giving birth so it might just have been me!) but ultimately, it was do-able :)

Course starting: September 2012

Review posted: August 2013

Iniatially I thought I had made a big mistake in choosing this course. I found the 'entanglement' between welfare and crime a little forced in some places and this course is all about that entanglement.

The division between and crime control and welfare is blurred!!!! Ah no shit?:)

However by the end of it, I had got into the habit of looking at things from this dual perspective.

The workload is not as heavy as other courses. I would recommend attending the tutorials because they help put the entanglements in perspective, and did challenge and change some of my views along with the course content.

My only slight criticism would be that I prefer a more sociological theory and theorists content and thought this would build on the sociological courses and theorectical content I had previously done.
Answer: Being able to critique sources of information is an important skill to...

This courses main theory is 'responsibilasation' which I have found useful in further courses but would have prefered a bit more theory instead of the promotion of 'entanglements' that was a little repetitive and as said possibly forced in places.

I am pleased I did the course, (I acheived a distiction, so very pleased), and whilst it was not my favorite I do think it has added value to my learning and views.

Karen Barker

Course starting: October 2011

Review posted: July 2013

I found this course to be quite hard work in the sense that it didn't quite cover what I expected it to and I found it a little boring. There wasn't much crime but more welfare and society. However there were many interesting parts to the course so don't let the fact that it is not crime based put you off. If this is your first OU module with an exam I must say that the exam was not as stressful or difficult as I thought it would be.

Course starting: October 2011

Review posted: April 2013

This module is remarkably insightful and informative. I really enjoyed it and the course materials were well written and of a manageable size. The tutorials were very helpful, my tutor actually was the best in the world. I found the TMAs great as my scores were a massive encouragement going forward.

The exam preparations were top grade and the exam itself lived up to the hype and buzz. The DVDs in this module were quite nice and revealing with many important tips about the course overview and how to tackle exam questions.

Overall, this is a fantastic module and I will recommend it for anyone aspiring to study criminology and psychological studies or social policy.

Emeke Azike

Course starting: October 2011

Review posted: August 2012

I really enjoyed this course. I was a bit apprehensive as it was my first Level 2 course, however the work load was manageable and the material really interesting. I would certainly recommend this course. I had previously only done DD101 but the knowledge I gained on that course gave me the advantage to cope with this Level 2 course. I passed the exam too, my first exam in thirty years!

Course starting: October 2010

Review posted: June 2012

This course was my favourite so far! I really enjoyed it,it was interesting and a great follow on from DD101. The exam wasn't too daunting as I felt the course more than prepared me for it, plus my tutor was so helpful and always available with advice to point me in the right direction! I would definitely recommend this course.

Stella Marie Gizzi

Course starting: October 2010

Review posted: January 2012

I found this course very interesting. Some comments mention the repetitive nature of the materials, but I found each of the three books fun in their own way, though I found the Community book less engaging than Social Justice and Security, both of which I thought had more to offer.

Answer: I will briefly explain what we mean by the term security and...

The DVD was packed with information and a welcome companion piece to dip into for the TMAs. The way that the course was presented also meant I was able to choose the areas that I found most interesting for essays and the exam. Excellent follow up to DD121 and DD122 / DD101 if you have started there.

John McBride

Course starting: October 2010

Review posted: December 2011

I have just completed DD208. It was my fourth OU course having previously completed 1 course at Level 1, 1 at Level 2 and 2 at Level 3.

I didn't enjoy any part of the course, I found it repetitive to the extreme, uninteresting and I unfortunately had a tutor who was very slow in returning marked TMAs which I found frustrating.

The subject matter of the course concentrates on the 'entanglements' between the domains of welfare, crime and society. It does not pay much attention to 'crime' and is based more on social policy.

Workload wise there I felt that it was manageable, saying that however studying for me was an effort as I wasn't stimulated by the materials at all. I ended up with a grade 2 pass which I'm pleased about but it was my lowest marks with the OU.

I found the TMA questions very ambigous and sometimes I felt unclear as to what the question wanted. I apprectiate that social science can be interpreted in many different ways however my first couple of assignments weren't concentrating on the all important 'entanglements' and my marks were a little lower as a result.

I felt the exam was OK and there was no major surprises. All in all I wouldn't recommend this course.

Course starting: October 2010

Review posted: August 2011

Faculty response

This general response addresses all the student comments posted so far. We are reluctant to get too involved in discussions on this site - after all, it is supposed to be a space where students can share their views on and experience of studying DD208 Welfare, Crime and Society. And obviously the module team is very pleased to see the comments from students who enjoyed the module, and less happy to see comments from people who did not!

However, we thought it might be worth just responding to a couple of the points that have been made. First, it is important that you do not pick up the idea that DD208 is an easy option - student performance in terms of grades, completion rates etc. is much the same as on other second level modules.

Second, we notice that some comments suggest that the module may not be focused on the theories that help to explain the development of social policy and crime control policy.

Explain and illustrate this with reference to examples drawn from at least two chapters from Book 1.

That seems to us to be a misunderstanding. It is certainly the case that we do not put forward a single overarching theory that can be expected to explain everything, but DD208 does review a whole series of different ways of thinking about the issues - explicitly drawing on a range of different theoretical positions.
Answer: The notion of ‘security’ can range from individual and collective feelings of...

In that context, the notion of ‘entanglements’ (to which some comments refer) is important not just as a description, but as a way of thinking about the ways in which policies around welfare (and beyond welfare) and around crime (and punishment) are made up in practice. It makes it possible to understand and explore the complex processes that come together to shape contemporary social policy in its broadest sense.

The DD208 Module Team

I recently received my results for this course and was pleasently surprised with the grade I got. That's the good news ,the bad news was that I really didn't enjoy this course. The title of this course promises much but for me fails to deliver. The course starts off promisingly with the surveilence DVD but goes downhill fast with the subsequent course books which I found totally uninspiring. There was interesting chapters and case studys in each book but not enough to keep me interested.

The feedback I got from other students doing this course led me to believe that there was a significant amount of people also not inspired by DD208. I have previously studied DSE212,and despite lesser grades acheived I enjoyed it more than this course. So basically very disappointed with DD208 and I would not recommend this course to fellow students.

Course starting: October 2010

Review posted: August 2011

This course was not what I expected. I was disappointed to find that the contents of this course were of a different context than what I thought it would be. I found it very repetitive in many places, and by the end of the course had completely lost interest in the final topic. TMAs were well spaced, the workload was copable and the exam was ok. I ended up passing this course, but I feel if the course engaged me more I would have probably got a higher grade. I agree with other comments about this course in that if you are looking for a social policy course then this is the course for you.

Course starting: October 2010

Review posted: August 2011

Please note

Each of the views expressed above is an individual's very particular response, largely unedited, and should be viewed with that in mind. Since modules are subject to regular updating, some of the issues identified may have already been addressed. In some instances the faculty may have provided a response to a comment. If you have a query about a particular module, please contact your Regional Centre.

To send us reviews on modules you have studied with us, please click the sign in button below.

download, 24 kb.
    Sources:
  • 1. www3.open.ac.uk/coursereviews/course.aspx?course=dd208
  • 9.1%
  • 2. www.essayzone.co.uk/sample_degree_essays/dd208-welfare-crime-and-society.php
  • 0.1%
  • 3. www.essayzone.co.uk/sample_degree_essays/dd208-welfare-crime-and-society.php?sort=wo
  • 1.9%
  • 4. www.antiessays.com/free-essays/Dd208-585884.html
  • 1.6%
  • 5. www.antiessays.com/free-essays/Dd208-Tma03-558458.html
  • 4.1%
© 2018